top of page

Altenew Certification Program (4)


I have been making cards for over 2 years now. Since starting I have tried to find way to make my card making skills improve and I wasn't really sure how to do that. Well enter the Altenew Educator Certification Program.

What is the Educator Certification Program? I'll let Altenew explain it with their own word:

Do you want to enhance your skills and become a crafting expert/educator? Altenew Education Program could be your answer! This program will help you improve your paper crafting skills, master new techniques and redefine the way crafters learn! When you join our team of educators, you will have access to exciting and exclusive educator benefits - product discounts, sponsorships and more! Together, we can work towards spreading the art of paper-crafting throughout the community and across the globe.

I mulled it over and final decided to apply and I was accepted!

What this means is I will be taking classes at the Altenew Academy and then creating card projects based off of the techniques I learn. Some will be new to me and others I have been doing for a while. I'm really excited to see where this will lead.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The fourth class I have taken towards getting my Altenew Educator Certification was Easy Ink Blending Techniques. Ink Blending is not something I enjoy if I'm being totally honest. I don't hate it, but it isn't my go to when making a card. And if I am ink blending I typically use Distress Oxides because they are a smoother consistency and I'm less likely to mess it up. But I am trying to do new things with these classes so I decided to give emboss resist with Aletnew inks a go, and I didn't hate the results.

The Bamboo Rose stamp set is one I often struggle with. I'm honestly never sure how to use it and get to best results/design. I Googled some images for it and got inspired by some of the composition over card markers have done and based my design off of that.

I used VersaFine and Ranger White embossing powder and heat embossed each flower one at a time so I would be able to see where I was stamping (a tip I got from the class). After all the flowers were done I took a small leaf image and filled in the gaps. Then it was the scary time, the ink blending time.

Basically I used the same color pallet I have been using for about a month now (can't stop, won't stop). I took each ink color and a blending foam and lightly covered each rose in it's decided color, Pinkalicious or Coral Bliss. Then I did the leaves in Minty Mint. When they were all done I went over them a couple more times to get a brighter color. And to finish it off I used a sentiment from a Simon Says Stamp set with a few gems from Honey Bee Stamps.

When all is said and done, I guess I didn't hate ink blending.

How do you feel about Ink Blending? Share in the comments below.

Next class will be: For the Guys.

Featured Posts
Follow ME
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • free-vector-open-envelope-clip-art_117287_Open_Envelope_clip_art_medium
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page