top of page

30 Day Color Challenge - Week One


So the #dailymarker30day challenge has not been going as well as I hoped. I mean it is going, but life doesn't always make it easy so I have only really done some coloring on a handful in the first week of the challenge. I don't consider it a failure so far, just harder than I thought it would be. But I knew this was going to be the case when I started. At least I'm somewhat proud of what I have made.

Here is a look at the cards/panels I have done since I started:

Day 1: Cupcake Masking Party

I knew my first day of coloring I wanted to use a big stamped outline image. I wasn't sure what I was planning to do but my Layered Cupcake stamp set from Altenew came into my head and an idea was formed.

I admit my first mistake was not using watercolor paper. When I started stamping and masking I was still figuring it out and by the time I was done and decided I wanted to watercolor with distress inks it was too late and I wasn't starting over. I just went with it. and hope for the best.

The paper did warp and there was a teeny, tiny bit of pilling, but all in all it ended up working out. I just put something heavy on the panel and it flattened for me. Next time though, watercolor paper it is.

Day 2: Wedding Card Cheers

A friend at work asked me to make a wedding card for her. I was at first going to do a card using the Haute Wedding Dress stamp from The Ton. But was I was flipping through my stamps I came across my set of Adult Beverages by Simon Says Stamp. Immediately I saw the wine glass and thought about how I could make it into a champagne toasting look.

Let's just say it didn't go well at first. The first try I filled the glasses too high and tried to do a shadow that wasn't working. The second one I didn't let the ink dry long enough after stamping and it became a ink bleeding mess. The third try for some reason has a weirdly cut panel and the die I used was ill fitting. But by the 4th try I was a success and I really loved how it turned out.

With a little help from a few other items I ended up really loving this card and the minimal coloring I did.

Day 3: Coloring Color

The same day that I finished the wedding card I went through my stamps a little more and was inspired when I saw my set from WPlus9, Color My World. Honestly I couldn't think of a better stamp set to use for a coloring challenge than this one. Again I was uncertain where I was going to go with this (I decided on the ZIG Markers later) so I grabbed the images I wanted to use and did some stamping and masking.

I had never really done a "scene" before with masking but I was really proud of what I did. And then I decided to use my ZIG markers. I admit after the first one I panicked. I tried to use water, after again forgetting to use watercolor paper, and it was becoming a mess. I was scared all that stamping work was for nothing and I would have to trash the panel. But I pulled myself together and got rid of the water and started to just color with them instead and that saved it. But then I was coloring the letters and messed up again but using the wrong colors. Again I panicked but I refused to give up and I'm so happy I didn't. The finished result makes me happy.

As you can see I saved the panel with a little strategic paper piecing and embossing and if I must, I think I like it better than I would have it it had been just one piece.

Day 4: Cheers to Beers

There is nothing fancy to this project. There were no bells and whistles. This was simple coloring with a simple card design. I used the same stamp set I did with the wedding card but I used the beer bottle. And I drew in my own label to brighten it up some. The sentiment came from one of my favorite sets by CZ Designs and all I did was add Wink of Stella to make it sparkle. As simple as it gets.

The coloring isn't perfect in the close-up, but what can you do. But man look at that sparkle!

So it looks like I did 4 days of coloring over 7. Guess I wasn't as bad as I thought.

What do you think about my creations? Share in the comments below. And feel free to ask any questions about the products I used.

Featured Posts
Follow ME
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • free-vector-open-envelope-clip-art_117287_Open_Envelope_clip_art_medium
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page